Blessed...

books to enter the spirituality of the monks of Tibhirine

Contemporary man is more willing to listen to witnesses than masters, and if he listens to masters it is because they are also witnesses. [...] But what is a witness? A witness is someone who has had a personal experience and who shares it with others. [...] And if this witness is ready to seal with his blood what he affirms by his life and by his word, then he becomes a martyr, a prophet of hope whose testimony contains an extraordinary force of life, like the grain of wheat that dies in the ground and produces abundant fruit. [...] From daily martyrdom, expressed in "dying every day" (1 Cor 15.31; 2 Co 4, 10-12), to bloody martyrdom, the step to be taken can be tiny.

Dom Bernardo Olivera, Circular letter of May 21, 1997,

in How far to follow? , Cerf / Parole et silence, 1997, p. 132-133.

 

After having created in 2011 the site www.moines-tibhirine.org , and in order to allow a very large public to access this spiritual treasure, the Association for the Writings of the 7, gathering the Trappist family (OCSO) and the families of the monks, accompanied by an international scientific committee, undertook in 2017 the systematic edition of the texts of the brothers. The editorial project is driven by the desire to "let the brothers speak" and to bring out the community aspect of this message.

 

 

A first volume to enter the vocation and the history of faith of these men and their arrival in Tibhirine. Genesis of a community ... (September 2018)


The first portal work in this series made it possible to know and follow each brother in his vocation and his personal itinerary, and at the same time to grasp the genesis of this community as each one arrives in Tibhirine.

Blessed are those who give themselves. Life given stronger than death

A second volume to understand the meaning of their martyrdom


“Let us also remember the recent testimony of the Trappist monks of Tibhirine (Algeria), who prepared together for martyrdom”

Pope Francis, Gaudete and Exsultate, n ° 141

 

The second volume in this series shows how these brothers prepared themselves, personally and in community, to live the gift of their lives to the end. The work offers a thematic selection of texts by the brothers already published and unpublished, on the gift, death and martyrdom. They were brought together in order to enter, from the inside, into their progressive understanding of what the gift of their life meant, first by the monastic profession, then, how over the days and events, the he possibility of a violent death could be tamed in a constant search for this fidelity to the bonds woven during more than 50 years of presence. A story of love greater, stronger than death ...

The texts are presented according to the chronological thread, with introduction and notes offering the elements of context.

RELEASE IN LIBRARY ON JUNE 25, 2020

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Vimeo Icon

Heureux...

des livres pour entrer dans la spiritualité des moines de Tibhirine

L’homme contemporain est davantage disposé à écouter les témoins que les maîtres, et s’il écoute les maîtres c’est parce qu’ils sont aussi témoins. [...] Mais qu’est-ce qu’un témoin ? Un témoin est quelqu’un qui a fait une expérience personnelle et qui la communique aux autres. [...] Et si ce témoin est prêt à sceller de son sang ce qu’il affirme par sa vie et par sa parole, alors il devient un martyr, un prophète d’espérance dont le témoignage renferme une extraordinaire force de vie, tel le grain de blé qui meurt en terre et produit un fruit abondant. [...] Du martyre quotidien, exprimé dans le « mourir chaque jour » (1 Co 15,31; 2 Co 4, 10- 12), au martyre sanglant, le pas à franchir peut être infime.
 

Dom Bernardo Olivera, Lettre circulaire du 21 mai 1997,

dans Jusqu’où suivre ?, Cerf / Parole et silence, 1997, p. 132-133.


 

Après avoir créé en 2011 le site www.moines-tibhirine.org, et afin de permettre à un très large public d’accéder à ce trésor spirituel, l’Association pour les Ecrits des 7, regroupant la famille trappiste (OCSO) et les familles des moines, accompagnée par un comité scientifique international, a entrepris en 2017 l’édition systématique des textes des frères. Le projet éditorial est porté par le désir de « laisser parler les frères » et de faire ressortir l'aspect communautaire de ce message.

Heureux ceux qui espèrent. Autobiographies spirituelles (septembre 2018)

Un premier tome pour entrer dans la vocation et l’histoire de foi de ces hommes et leur arrivée à Tibhirine. Genèse d'une communauté...


Le premier ouvrage portail de cette série a permis de connaître et de suivre chaque frère dans sa vocation et son itinéraire personnel, et en même temps de saisir la genèse de cette communauté au fur et à mesure de l’arrivée de chacun à Tibhirine.

Heureux ceux qui se donnent. La vie donnée plus forte que la mort

Un second tome pour comprendre le sens de leur martyre.


«Souvenons-nous également du récent témoignage des moines trappistes de Tibhirine (Algérie), qui se sont préparés ensemble au martyre »

Pape François, Gaudete et Exsultate, n°141


 

Le deuxième volume de cette série montre comment ces frères se sont précisément préparés, personnellement et communautairement, à vivre le don de leur vie jusqu’au bout. L’ouvrage propose une sélection thématique de textes des frères déjà publiés et inédits, sur le don, la mort et le martyre. Ils ont été rassemblés afin d’entrer, de l’intérieur, dans leur compréhension progressive de ce qu’a signifié le don de leur vie, d’abord par la profession monastique, puis, comment au fil des jours et des événements, l’éventualité d’une mort violente a pu être apprivoisée dans une recherche constante de cette fidélité aux liens tissés pendant plus de 50 ans de présence. Récit de l'amour plus grand, plus fort que la mort...

Les textes sont présentés selon le fil chronologique, avec introduction et notes offrant les éléments de contexte.

EN LIBRAIRIE LE 25 JUIN 2020

 

Article de Christophe Henning, Journal La Croix du 25 juin 2020

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Vimeo Icon